Jianyu Hou Cleveland-based Columnist for News Republic

Warning: This page contains some graphic pictures. 

lovely_babies-1680x1050.jpg

Being born and raised in Communist China, I was taught to believe in materialism and atheism, but what happened recently has challenged my belief.

One month ago, my girlfriend invited me to her place. After eating BBQ and having a happy conversation, we both went to sleep. I flipped over and over again in her guest room, feeling being watched, but there was no male that night in her apartment. I couldn’t fall asleep until 3:40AM. When half asleep and half awake, I saw a human body that lost its upper part and felt a pair of big hands running on my butt. At first I thought it was just a bad dream, but soon I realized it’s more vivid than normal. It’s a nightmare, the first one in my life.

Next morning, my girlfriend asked me about my nightmare. She’s not surprised and said it happened to her very often since her twenty five after she aborted her second baby.

It reminded me that eight years ago, my classmate took me to a lecture on Buddhism. The Buddhist master told us that the souls of aborted babies would bring bad luck to their parents. At that time, I argued with my classmate, saying it’s superstitious. But since I’ve experienced the nightmare, I thought I should do some research on abortion.

Both modern Western Medicine and Traditional Chinese Medicine don’t tell me the souls of aborted babies haunting beside their parents. They both said that the disturbance of female hormone level after abortion is the reason causing mothers’ bad dreams and nightmares. I’m a straight woman and I’ve never been pregnant. How could I experience the nightmare? And it’s my first one. Maybe the babies tried to ask for my help, because their mother, my girlfriend and their father never felt guilty.

Two days later, I visited the local Buddhist temple. The monks told me that the anger of aborted babies would mislead them to the wrong direction on the way of reincarnation, so a lot of parents went to their temple to do Buddhist rituals after they felt the haunting dead babies.

In China mainland, the forced abortions caused by the “One-Child Policy” and the education of atheism have been proved to fail. More and more Chinese doubt atheism and believe in religions. However, a trend of adopting and worshiping aborted babies, which is called Kumang Thong, emerged as China’s economy develops and more temptations appear.

Kumang Thong originated in ancient Thailand. It’s a kind of black magic of the heresy of Buddhism (not the mainstream Buddhism) using aborted babies to bring good luck with money and fame to their owners. The witch casts spells to let the dead baby sit up, burns its jaw to get the body oil, and seals the oil into a little glass or plastic container along with a fake doll made of wood, clay or plastic. In this way, the soul of the baby is trapped in the container that is for worshiping, not being able to reincarnate.

screenshot.png

screenshot.png

(Kumang Thongs made of the body oil of aborted babies sold on eBay)

Kumang Thongs made of real babies are believed more powerful than the containers. The witches roast the baby bodies and then paint with gold leaf. The longer the babies stay in their mothers’ wombs, the better luck they will bring to their owners. But if the owners don’t worship them piously and want too much, they will bring disasters, usually the death of the owners or people around them.

screenshot.png

(Kumang Thongs sold on eBay, made of the real bodies of aborted babies)

One of the worshipers of Kumang Thong is Taiming Guo, the boss of Foxconn, the largest manufactory producing electric devices for Apple. On Chinese social media, Guo’s story of feeding Kumang Thongs has gone viral since the jumping events that claimed fifteen young lives of the Foxconn workers in 2010. That year, a Chinese Feng Shui master said that the suicide in Foxconn would continue until twenty-seven people died. By the end of 2016, the death number has reached twenty-five in total.

screenshot.pngscreenshot.png

(In 2010, in a post on China’s largest online forum, Tianya, a Feng Shui master saying that the death number of the suicide in Foxconn would be 27. Foxconn is where iPhones and iPads come from.)

People in North America have realized the magic of Kumang Thong too. On eBay, the price of Kumang Thongs is up to 890 U.S. dollars. I have no idea how the online store owners ship the human body products from Thailand to North America.

screenshot.png

(Search results of Kumang Thong on eBay)

It’s sad that nowadays, instead of going to churches or temples, some people worship ghosts that are much less powerful than God and Buddha. Some politicians promote the right of unlimited abortions up to birth in the name of feminism in order to gain support from women voters. They never tell women the after-effects of abortion, such as bad dreams and nightmares. They never tell people that some aborted babies are roasted for black magic that feeds people’s expanding lust. Some parents even use their own babies to do so.

There are a lot of things that modern science cannot explain even in the 21st century, so being conservative is not always regressive, sometimes it’s because older people have experienced a lot.

Contact Jianyu Hou:

houjianyu84@gmail.com

Twitter: houjianyu84